When Home Made Makes You Smile

By now, most people who read our blog or catch us on facebook  at Mighty Oaks Farm know how much we try and make as many of our consumables as possible.  In most cases, making your consumables yourself is healthier and in many cases cheaper, uh-hummm…more cost efficient.

One of the things that I make is Tooth Powder.  Tooth Powder is made with all natural ingredients, you can customize it to your taste (literally), it is inexpensive and you are not getting any fluoride or other harsh chemicals or additives that you would find in a normal tube of tooth paste.

SAMSUNG
It’s not pretty, but it makes you pretty!

Keep in mind.  Tooth Powder is a powder, not a paste.  Different texture completely.  This is one of the reasons many people like the powder.  Some people have very sensitive gag reflexes and have a difficult time with paste.  This may be a great alternative for them.

I have to say, that after using this tooth powder, the farmer and I have found two substantial benefits outside of the cost.

#1  Say good-by to halitosis aka….morning breath.

#2  Our teeth are whiter.

OK,  On number one, yes everyone has morning breath to some degree.  Just a fact of life.  But it didn’t take more than a day or two of using tooth powder for me to see a significant difference in my own mouth when I woke up in the morning.  I didn’t say anything at first because I thought is was just a fluke.  But after a while, I asked the farmer,  “Have you noticed that your breath is not as bad in the morning?” He said, “Actually, now that you mention it, yes!”

Whiter teeth….Now once again, because I stink at thinking ahead some times, I wish that I had thought to take a before picture so there would be some visual proof.  But, I did not.  I can tell you however, that our teeth are whiter (due to the activated charcoal that is in the tooth powder). Yes, your tooth powder is a pretty shade of gray when you are brushing.  But who cares if it works!

Our teeth are clean, our teeth are healthy, our breath is fresh.  I can’t really ask for more than that.  Tooth powder is super easy to make and if you want to test out a “home made” product, this would seriously be my recommendation for a great place to start.

SAMSUNG
No harsh chemicals here.  Just all natural goodness!

I’m sure that there are many, many different recipes out there.  This just happens to be the one that I use.  The ingredients are all either things you would have at home or easily found at a health food store or on line.

4 Tablespoons Bentonite Clay

2 Tablespoons Baking Soda

2 Tablespoons Calcium Powder

1 Teaspoon Salt (I recommend Real Salt, or some type of fine sea salt)

1/2 Teaspoon Activate Charcoal

15 to 20 drops of essential oil, your choice (cinnamon leaf, clove, peppermint or spearmint all work well, but whatever you want your mouth to taste like is what you use)

SAMSUNG
Use a spoon to stir it, not a toothbrush.  It just looks like that is what I’m doing here!

Mix it all together in a mason jar or container of your choice.  Make sure it has a lid so that you can give it a shake now and again.

This one batch will last quite some time.  HINT:  You can split it up into smaller jars and write names on the lid so everyone has their own if you would like.   If you decide to give it a try, leave a comment and let us know what you think.

And until then – be blessed, Staci

SAMSUNG
I mean who doesn’t want a super giant close up of their mouth to be shown to the world?!

Leave a Reply

